NOVEMBER: Jesse Albrecht • UXO • Weekdays 10am-2pm

November 9, 2010

“Unexploded ordnance (or UXOs) are explosive weapons that did not explode when they were employed and still pose a risk of detonation, potentially many decades after they were used or discarded.” -wikipedia

“Blood, guts, sex & danger, I wanna be an airborne ranger…”

Jesse Albrecht presents an installation with bronze, combat paper prints and castings, ceramics, photographs, drawings, and found objects that weave together a personal story of war and peace.  In his words: “The First and Second World Wars and Vietnam invited me to Iraq. Going to war is the easy part, the coming home is hard.  The military was my religion corrupted by civilian politicians and I struggle to reconcile the the war experience and my choice to leave the military.”

One Response to “NOVEMBER: Jesse Albrecht • UXO • Weekdays 10am-2pm”

  1. shelly cilek said

    Jessie,

    I was very moved by your work, I understand so much now.

    thank you for sharing

    In my daily prayers
    Shelly

Leave a Reply

